Building excellence recognised at New Zealand building industry awards

August 27, 2018
The New Zealand Institute of Building (NZIOB) celebrated the winners of the 2018 NZIOB Industry Awards on Friday, 24th August at the Cordis Hotel, Auckland. Now in their 25th year, the awards aim to highlight individual and team excellence across the building and construction sectors.

Two projects designed by Warren and Mahoney were recognised across three award categories.

The inaugural Hays Construction Interdisciplinary Collaboration Award honours exceptional examples of collaborative partnerships between consultants and contractor.

12 Madden Street, delivered by design team Beca, Holmes Consulting, Warren and Mahoney, and RLB were the recipient of this award. The judges noted this project exhibited a multi-level degree of interdisciplinary collaboration that was led jointly by the client, design consultants and contractor. As the identical team has been engaged by Precinct Properties for additional building projects at Wynyard Quarter, this underlined the judges view that 12 Madden Street was an outstanding example of project collaboration.

12 Madden Street and Jason Carnie of Hawkins also received the Allied Concrete projects $50M-$95M Award.

The second Warren and Mahoney project recognised was Pier B extension at Auckland International Airport. Congratulations to our partners Craig Treloer, Project Director, and Phil Helleur, Project Manager, Hawkins, who were the recipients of the AECOM projects over $95M Award for this project.

Simon Barnes FNZIOB, the Convenor of the New Zealand Building Awards Judging Panel, said: “This year we have seen an increased number of entries in each category and once again the calibre of the people being judged by their peers is outstanding.

The NZIOB recognises the support the finalists and winners have received from their companies, teams and families, which has enabled them to deliver world-class construction projects to their clients and the wider community.”

See the full list of award winners here.